Magritte inspirations

N.B. I forgot to say in my last post (Autumn jewels) that I’ve recently acquired a new SLR – a long awaited Canon 400D! I am very excited about this as I have wanted to be the proud owner of a Canon for a long time now. A friend happened to mention she was selling hers for a reasonable price and that she’d love to pass it down to me – I felt very honoured as she is a talented photographer. So the photos you see from now will most likely be taken with my Canon (I handed down my lovely former camera – a Pentax SLR – to my boyfriend). If anyone has any tips on using a Canon I’d love to hear them. 

I’d just like to share some more photos I took in the Science Park, this time of the stunning lakes – inspired by one of my favourite artists: Magritte.

A sample of Magritte’s work – I love his use of reflections and contrasts, they add to the surreal elements in his paintings.

My work: 

Autumn jewels

As Autumn is my favourite season, I decided to revel in it and go for a walk in the picturesque Cambridge Science Park with my trusty dog.

Despite being a business park, the Science Park boasts some beautiful scenery – open green areas with stunning lakes and trees.

As I was walking my usual route, something caught my eye from a narrow overgrown path where I don’t normally venture down. An orange glow was emanating down the path – a sparkling, dazzling glow – enticing me, luring me in. Despite a few precautions, I could not help but follow it (much to my dog’s disgruntlement). I was like a a moth to the flame, a magpie to the glitter.

As I got closer, I realised it was actually a carpet of golden leaves and above it, a canopy of jeweled leaves creating an enclosure. It was so magical I had to catch my breath for a minute. Let me not ruin it for you, let the photos speak for themselves. Enjoy: